Pumpkin Bread – Glorious Fall Flavors

15046308_10210962777975297_162915233_n

With fall coming to a slow but sure end, the trees are becoming increasingly bare, and the wool scarves and fuzzy hats are beginning to emerge.

I can’t believe how long it’s been since I last posted something on this blog (2014…!) but here I am again with a post about pumpkin spice and everything nice.

A lot has happened over the past two years; some ups, some downs. But all of it has worked towards shaping me into the person I am today: Bachelors Degree in Food Science from the top university in Canada, fabulous career in Quality Control for a frozen fruit and vegetable company… and still in love with baking. I don’t feel as driven as I once did to pursue a career in pastisserie, but it is still a hobby I adore, and sharing it with the people I love brings one of the greatest joys.

Last week I decided to purée a huge pumpkin to make Dorie Greenspan’s Pumpkin Muffins (which were to die for), and consequentially I now have five containers of pumpkin purée cluttering up my fridge and freezer.

This week, I decided to make One Bowl Greek Yogurt Pumpkin Bread from Amanda’s blog Running With Spoons (you should check it out; her photography is amazing). I made a few modifications: I used 6 tbsp of maple syrup instead of coconut sugar, and I used vanilla Greek yogurt instead of plain. The results were still delicious; a tender spiced bread studded with melting chocolate chips.

15050144_10210962777775292_661411242_n

One Bowl Greek Yogurt Pumpkin Bread (From Running With Spoons by Amanda)

Ingredients

2 large eggs
1/2 cup (120 g) canned pumpkin purée
1/4 cup (55 g) plain 2% Greek yogurt
6 tbsp (75 g) coconut palm sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/4 (150 g) whole wheat pastry flour
1/3 cup (60 g) chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat your oven to 350ºF (176ºC), and lightly grease a 9 x 5 (23cm x 13cm) loaf pan.

In a large mixing bowl, lightly beat the eggs until the yolks break apart. Whisk in the pumpkin, yogurt, sugar, vanilla, spices, baking soda, and salt, mixing until smooth.

Slowly spoon in the flour and gently stir it in until just combined. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan, spreading it out even, and top with a few extra chocolate chips. Bake for 40-45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Remove the bread from the oven and let it cool in the pan for about 10 minutes before transferring it to a cooling rack to cool completely.

15086974_10210962777935296_13031425_n

Leave a Reply

